Driving on Suspended License Attorney
LAMONT LAW FIRM
California law makes driving on a suspended license a crime. If you have a
driving on a suspended license citation, call our Lamont Criminal Defense
Attorney for help in going to Court for you and fighting the violation. The DMV
has authority to suspend or revoke the driver’s license of a defendant who is
convicted of various traffic violations. In addition, the DMV can suspend a
drivers license under the following provisions:
• Must revoke for one year the license of a person convicted of reckless driving
causing bodily injury.
• May suspend the license of a person convicted of a second or subsequent
offense of reckless driving.
• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of manslaughter
resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of three or
more violations of Vehicle Code section 20001, §20002, §23103, §23104, or
§23105 within a 12-month period..
• Must revoke for three years the license of a person convicted of a violation of
Pen C §191.5(a), Pen C §192.5(a), or Vehicle Code §2800.3 causing serious
bodily injury resulting in a serious impairment of physical condition.
• May suspend the license of a person convicted of manslaughter resulting from
the operation of a motor vehicle under Pen C §192(c)(2). Veh C §13361(c).
• Must suspend the license of a person who has failed for a period of 30 days
to satisfy a judgment rendered against him or her for property damage of more
than $750 or for injury or death resulting from the person’s operation of a
motor vehicle. Veh C §§16250–16251, 16370. The suspension remains in
effect until the judgment is satisfied in full and the person gives proof of
When the DMV is required to suspend or revoke a defendant’s license for a
conviction of violating the Vehicle Code, the suspension or revocation begins on
a plea, finding, or verdict of guilty in the Lamont Court. Any plea or verdict of
guilty, plea of no contest, a finding of guilty in a trial without a jury, or bail
forfeiture, is deemed a conviction for purposes of imposing a license suspension
or revocation, notwithstanding subsequent action under Penal Code §1203.4 or
§1203.4a allowing withdrawal of a guilty plea, setting aside a verdict of guilty,
or dismissing an accusation or information in a Kern County Court.
Except as otherwise specifically provided, a license suspension by the DMV
may not exceed six months. However, the DMV may suspend a license for up
to 12 months in those cases in which a discretionary revocation is authorized.
The DMV may suspend or revoke the privilege of a nonresident to operate a
vehicle in this state under any of the provisions of the Vehicle Code that give the
DMV the authority to suspend or revoke the license of a resident. A
nonresident of California who operates a motor vehicle on a highway in this
state after his or her privilege to do so has been suspended or revoked is in
violation of Vehicle Code §14601 or §14601.1.
Our Law Firm defends all driving on a suspended license tickets in Kern
County, including Lamont, Shafter, Taft, Bakersfield, Mojave and Delano. If
you are in need of an attorney to fight a suspended license violation, give us a
call. Our Kern County Criminal Defense Attorneys have over 20 years
experience to help you get the charges dismissed.
Toll Free 1-877-202-3834
Bruce M. Blythe, Attorney at Law, Toll Free 1-877-202-3834